Youngblood Brass Band - 20 Questions EP (Vinyl 12" + MP3)

Youngblood Brass Band - 20 Questions EP (Vinyl 12" + MP3)
Click To Enlarge
  • Item #: YBBLP2
20 Questions is the first EP taken from the new Pax Volumi album, and includes 2 instrumental versions unreleased on the full album. The title track is a (slightly) tongue-in-cheek rallying cry for the band, its fans, and its detractors, somehow straddling the line between banger, anthem, and mockery. The unreleased instrumental version reveals all the intricacies of YBB's new production style, in a popping beat, displaced staccato horn parts, and a ripping middle section. 'Whiskey Tango Foxtrot' takes the band's new creative energy further, exploring darker timbres, different instrumentation (bass clarinet), vocals that swoop between sung, spoken word, and rap, coalescing into an epic rant that focuses on a twisted interpretation of the phonetic alphabet...that, or a scathing critique swaddled in a love letter to America. WTF is one of Youngblood's most adventurous songs to date, and the unreleased instrumental here allow the listener to wade in the depth of a deceptively simple arrangement. The EP closes with 'Overtime', a blazing nod toward New Orleans, with a chorus that practically screams 'put your hands way, way, way up'. This vinyl 12" includes MP3 download. A: 1. 20 Questions 2. 20 Questions (instrumental) B: 3. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot 4. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot (instrumental) 5. Overtime Youngblood Brass Band is: David Henzie-Skogen – drums/vocals/production Nat McIntosh – sousaphone Conor Elmes – drums Tom Reschke – drums Joe Goltz – trombone Matt Hanzelka – trombone Tony Barba – tenor saxophone (all songs) and bass clarinet (on 3, 6, 11) Zach Lucas – alto saxophone (all songs) and tenor saxophone (on 2, 3, 8, 11) Charley Wagner – trumpet Mike Boman – trumpet Jeff Maddern – trumpet (on 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 12) All tracks engineered/produced by David Henzie-Skogen at Layered Studios. Mixed by Beau Sorenson and David Henzie-Skogen at Soma Electronic Music Studios. Mastered by Jim Wilson Mastering. Copyright 2013 Tru Thoughts / Full Thought Publishing.
Price $10.00
Availability Out-of-Stock